The Bureau of Fire Protection celebrated its 41st Fire Service Recognition day that was graced by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Mar Roxas together with the newly designated Officer-in-Charge Chief Superintendent ARIEL A BARAYUGA CEO VI last December 14, 2014, 2 o’clock in the afternoon, Sunday at AFP COC, Camp Aguinaldo, Quezon City.

This year’s theme “Bumbero, Simbulo ng Kabayanihan at Laging Maasahan” depicts the heroism of our firefighters who performed their mission during typhoon ‘Yolanda’, Basilan siege, and other gallant deeds. It is a traditional occasion for the BFP as they award Medals of Honor to Filipino Firefighters who have shown galantry in the act of service. This observance is in pursuant to Presidential Proclamation No. 1312 issued by the late President Ferdinand E. Marcos to commemorate the three (3) firefighters who died during the fateful fire incident at Meralco Rockwell Power Plant in 1973. The valiant firefighters who are all nozzlemen at the time of the explosion were Fire Lieutenant Jose Fabicon, Firemen Domingo Viray, and Fructuoso Planas. A wreath laying activity to honor those fierefighters who died in line of duty will also be held at the North Cemetery in Manila, where a dedicated resting place for all the firefighters is located. This will be done in the morning of the same day along with the said occasion.

One of the highlights of the activity was the Audio-visual presentation showcasing the dauntless efforts of all the firefighters while in the performance of duty at any given time as well as the recognition of the past Fire Chiefs of the Bureau.

The awards given includes Medalya ng Kagitingan in recognition of Firemen’s heroism; Medalya ng Natatanging Gawa that were awarded to CINSP RODERICK ESTEBAN B RAMIREZ and 12 others of BFP-Region 2 for resourcefully improvising an emergency, medical and rescue equipment; Medalya ng Pambihirang Paglilingkod (Degree of Maginoo) given to CINSP DENNIS A MOLO of BFP-National Headquarters for his accomplishments as an advocate of the partnership between the BFP and foreign agencies; Medalya ng Kadakilaan for the prompt response of the BFP rescue units of BFP Regions 2, 4A, 5, 11, ARMM and CAR; Medalya ng Kasanayan which was awarded to SSUPT CARLITO B OCEÑA, Regional Director of BFP Region 9 for establishing a good rapport with their LGU; Medalya ng Papuri given to SSUPT ELEUTERIO N ITURRIAGA; Medalya ng Pagtulong sa Nasalanta; Medalya ng Kagalingan for BFP Regions ARMM and NCR of brave response to unexpected eventualities; and BFP Unit Citation Badge awarded to INSP BAYANI D ZAMBRANO and 14 others of BFP Region 12, for winning as first runner-up in “Best in Government Emergency Response Management – Urban Search and Rescue Category – National Level”.

“Hindi natin makakalimutan ang mga kabayanihang kanilang pinamalas, mapa-sunog man, bagyo, baha, lindol at mga kaguluhan, pilit silang sasagip ng buhay kahit malagay sila sa panganib. Kaya sa mga bumberong buong puso, tapang, tapat at walang sawang naglilingkod sa kanilang kapwa, at sa boong bansa, para sainyo ang araw na ito. Nararapat lamang na kayo ay parangalan at palakpakan. Sa mga magigiting nating bumbero, saludo ako, saludo ang buong bayan sa inyo.” CSUPT BARAYUGA said to emphasize his admiration to the awardees whose dedication to duty is worthy of emulation.

Along with the program was the signing of MOA between Gyeonggi-do Fire Service Academy, Republic of Korea and BFP, and turn-over of donated radio equipment system from Hytera Communications Co., Ltd., Handheld radio and shelter from Sancheong Co., Ltd. in coordination with Panpisco Technology Inc.