President Benigno S. Aquino III and CSC chairperson Alicia dela Rosa-Bala present the Dangal ng Bayan Award to Fire Officer II Trixie Dagame.
The Civil Service Commission (CSC) has awarded Fire Officer II Trixie Ganabe of the Bureau of Fire Protection (BFP) Region 8 as one of the Outstanding Public Official or the Dangal ng Bayan Awardees, Monday.

Danabe, a firefighter from Tacloban City is one of the chosen Awardees out of the 604 nominations nationwide. She received a cash prize of PHP200,000; a trophy designed by National Artist for Sculpture Napoleon V. Abueva; and is considered to be promoted to the next higher rank.

The said award is in recognition of her utmost dedication to duty as a firefighter in Tacloban City during the onslaught of super typhoon Yolanda in 2013 despite the loss of her two (2) children.

The premiered accolade is being administered by the CSC annually and is conferred to an individual for performance of extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of his/her adherence to the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.

It is also one of the highest and most coveted recognitions given by the government to individuals or group of individuals who have excelled or shown utmost dedication and commitment in public service.

“On behalf of the BFP family, I congratulate FO2 Danabe for this another milestone in her life as a firefighter and a mother.” Chief BFP, Director Ariel A Barayuga.

“She has showed an incomparable valor and dedication to service during the devastating catastrophe, thus proving to the public that the BFP is always there to help,” Barayuga added.

DILG Secretary Mel Senen Sarmiento also extended his congratulations to FO2 Ganabe who personally received her award at the Malacañang Palace handed over by President Benigno Aquino.

“It is fitting to extend my personal commendation to our lady firefighter who risked her life in order to save others. Such noble and courageous deeds bespeaks of her genuine dedication to duty that is worthy of emulation by others.” Sarmiento said.

Sarmiento also added that the DILG is proud to know that the BFP, an organization that produces unsung heroes but seldom recognized for their selfless acts of heroism is included in this year’s Dangal ng Bayan Awards.

It was two years since Typhoon Yolanda or internationally known as typhoon Haiyan, one of the strongest tropical cyclones ever recorded battered Tacloban Leyte. On November 8, 2013, it has killed at least 6, 300 people, including the five (5) firefighters who were among the responding and rescuing units of the BFP-R8.

The BFP will continue to honor the lives of SFO4 Ricardo Raga, SFO3 Marius Andre Sison, FO2 Rolando Cinco, FO1 Felix Miranda, and FO1 Melquiades Baguio for their courage and laudable service to the Filipino people that claimed their lives, truly, our modern day heroes. ###

Photo by: Photo by Joseph Vidal / Malacañang Photo Bureau)

BFP News Release
09 November 2015
Reference: Office of the Public Information Services, BFP-NHQ